Media Design receiving full Cumulus membership

Following an almost two-year preparation process, Media Design has been appointed full member at CUMULUS association on 11th June 2020. CUMULUS is the only global association to serve art and design education and research. It is a forum for partnership and transfer of knowledge and best practices. After receiving numerous design awards and top national ranking, this comes as an international knighthood for Media Design Ravensburg.

Becoming CUMULUS member requires various qualifications, such as operating successfully in a strong international network as well as providing convincing references from at least two international CUMULUS members. In its application Media Design was supported by KEA Copenhagen and ULAP Rovaniemi, two academic partner enjoying longstanding mutual exchange with Ravensburg.

Over the past 20 years Media Design’s diverse international contacts have been in care of Markus Rathgeb, Head of Department. In close cooperation with the university’s International Office, Media Design students can currently choose from exchange programs of about 15 partner universities in order to extend their academic experience.

Technically, this years CUMULUS General Assembly should have taken place in Rome, bringing together all 340 existing and new members. However, due to COVID19 restrictions the assembly had to be organized from Helsinki head quarter as an online ZOOM meeting, including a new member’s fair on MIRO.

Becoming aware of the new member Media Design Ravensburg, many CUMULUS members were excited about the DHBW dual study program where academic studies and work placements interact as equal parts. In fact, by combining theory and practice consistently, the DHBW provides a truely sustainable study program.

https://www.cumulusassociation.org/cumulus-online-ga/
https://www.cumulusassociation.org/members/DualeHochschuleBadenWrttembergRavensburg

New members of the Cumulus Network

Mediendesign wird in die Cumulus-Association aufgenommen

Nach fast zwei-jähriger Vorbereitung war es am 11. Juni soweit: die DHBW Ravensburg wurde mit der Studienrichtung Mediendesign in die CUMULUS-Association als Vollmitglied aufgenommen. CUMULUS fördert und organisiert den Austausch und Kooperationen zwischen den besten Designhochschulen der Welt. Nach den zahlreichen Auszeichnungen für den Studiengang und einem Spitzenplatz im nationalen Ranking ist das der internationale „Ritterschlag“.

CUMULUS-Mitglied kann nur werden, wer kontinuierlich bemerkenswerte Referenzen aufweist, international gut vernetzt ist und von mindestens zwei Designhochschulen des Netzwerks vorgeschlagen wird. Mediendesign Ravensburg wurde bei der Bewerbung u.a. von der KEA Kopenhagen und der University of Lapland Rovaniemi unterstützt — zwei langjährige Partner, mit denen der Studiengang rege Austauschprogramme pflegt.

Die vielfältigen internationalen Kontakte und Austauschprogramme für den Studiengang Mediendesign wurden über die vergangenen 20 Jahre maßgeblich von Prof. Dr. Markus Rathgeb aufgebaut und weiter entwickelt. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem International Office der DHBW können die Studierenden des Studiengangs von unterschiedlichen Austauschprogrammen und Kooperationen mit ca. 15 Partnerhochschulen profitieren, um so ihren Erfahrungshorizont zu erweitern.

Die Vollversammlung der CUMULUS-Gesellschaft mit Vertretern der 340 bestehenden und neuen Mitgliedern hätte eigentlich in Rom stattfinden sollen. Aufgrund der COVID19-Beschränkungen wurde die Konferenz vom Hauptquartier in Helsinki aus organisiert und fand als ZOOM-Webkonferenz mit einer „new members fair“ statt.

https://www.cumulusassociation.org/cumulus-online-ga/
https://www.cumulusassociation.org/members/DualeHochschuleBadenWrttembergRavensburg

New members of the Cumulus Network