German Youth Film Award for Media Design Students

Three students of the Media Design programme at DHBW Ravensburg have won the German Youth Film Prize! The animation short film »Unlocky« by Natalie Friedrich, Annalena Greger and Ronja Krohz is one of the nine winners selected from around 600 short films. The plot: A funny story about love locks, as they are today often seen on bridges and railings.

The jury of the German Youth Film Award praised the very unique animation style of the media design team, the hilarious and funny plot twists and the young creatives’ sense for detail.

The three and a half minutes of animation joy are the result of three months of laborious work. »Bridge« was the topic/key word of the brief for the main project during the fourth semester. The story of the three students: A love affair breaks up and Frida leaves Norbert. Norbert now tries in all sorts of ways to pick the lock of his past love. And in the process gets to know Emma – maybe a new beginning? Annalena Greger and Natalie Friedrich created the characters and animations manually and digitally, drawing no less than 2,700 individual frames. Ronja Krohz was responsible for sound design.

The teams creativity and ambition has already been awarded at the film festival »abgedreht« in 2019 and recently at the Art Directors Club Germany awards 2020, now being followed by the prestigious German Youth Film Award.

»Unlocky« can be seen online at www.bundesfestival.de until 28 June.

Film still: Unlocky

Deutscher Jugendfilmpreis für Mediendesignerinnen

Drei Studentinnen des Studiengangs Mediendesign der DHBW Ravensburg haben den Deutschen Jugendfilmpreis gewonnen. Die Arbeit »Unlocky« von Natalie Friedrich, Annalena Greger und Ronja Krohz gehört zu den neun Gewinnern, die aus rund 600 Kurzfilmen ausgewählt wurden. Der Inhalt der Filmanimation: Eine witzige Story rund um Liebesschlösser, wie sie heute von Liebenden zuhauf an Brücken und Geländer angeschlossen werden.

Die Jury des Deutschen Jugendfilmpreises lobt den ganz eigenen Animationsstil der Mediendesignerinnen der DHBW Ravensburg. Ebenso allerlei aberwitzige Situationskomik und den Sinn der Nachwuchskreativen für Details.

Hinter den dreieinhalb Minuten Kurzweile stecken drei Monate ehrgeiziger Arbeit. »Brücke« war das Thema im vierten Semester und beim Thema Film. Die Story der drei Studentinnen: Eine Liebe zerbricht und Frida verlässt Norbert. Der versucht nun auf allerlei Arten das Schloss der verflossenen Liebe zu knacken. Und lernt dabei Emma kennen – vielleicht ja ein neuer Anfang? Annalena Greger und Natalie Friedrich erschufen mit Adobe Illustrator die Figuren, malten sage und schreibe 2.700 Einzelbilder. Ronja Krohz setzte das Ganze mit Ton und Musik in Szene.

Kreativität und Ehrgeiz der drei wurde bereits beim Jugendfilmfestival »abgedreht« sowie kürzlich beim Art Directors Club Deutschland ausgezeichnet. Nun folgt die große Ehre, den Deutschen Jugendfilmpreis abgesahnt zu haben.

»Unlocky« ist noch bis zum 28. Juni auf www.bundesfestival.de online zu sehen.

Film still: Unlocky