Junior Grand Prix and award series at ADC 2019

Hamburg: At this year’s ADC Festival by the Art Directors Club Germany media design students from DHBW Ravensburg can once again build on their excellent successes from the previous year!

Again, in 2019 one of the two coveted Junior Grand Prix of the Art Directors Club Germany goes to Ravensburg: Jonathan Kopetzky and Johannes Lörz were awarded with the best thesis of the year award and also won gold in the category Experimental Design/Digital with their bachelor thesis “The Worldwide Moral Movement” .

Their project investigates how populism and fake news can influence people and their moral perceptions. The most serious problems of our society are either not heard or are difficult to solve. Their idea: they use provocative means to offer solutions to these problems, taking populism ad absurdum. The students refer to utilitarianism in their project and postulate “everything that is useful is morally justifiable”. With a fictitious movement, the viewer is to be given credible radical solutions and thereby brought to moral self-reflection.

“A work that give shows the middle finger to the moral index, in a dramaturgically brilliant way: The serious, almost bland presentation form with a fictitious ‘visionary‹ lead figure and his hair-raising solutions. It is precisely this intelligent madness and the courage to come up with ideas that are also perfectly suited to the zeitgeist that deserve the award,” said the ADC jury.

The communication campaign for Black Forest tourism “Finally something for young people” of the media design students Annick Buhr, Shannon Rogers, Tabea Edelkott, Julian Schleier, Johannes Lörz, Jonathan Kopetzky, Malte Heines and Julia Maier, which was also successful at the GWA and Red Dot Awards, was also awarded ADC Gold.

A bronze nail in the category “type design” and at the same time the only metal award in this category went to Hannes Drissner and Daniel Zenker for their thesis “Median Grotesk”.

Another five ADC award special mentions went to the semester projects and final theses “Very Able Fonts” (Philip Walch), “Order is half the life” by Julian Schleier, “Sem Destino a Lisboa” by Julia Helm, “At the bottom of the lake” by Tabea Edelkott and Julia Maier and the “Corporate Design Psychiatric Museum Haina” by Mona Bianca Dürer.

The ADC Festival 2019, Germany’s largest meeting of the communications industry on the topic of “Creative Intelligence – How Ideas Are Created”, started on 21 May in Hamburg. The two-day ADC Congress on May 23rd and 24th took place on the topic “The future of people, brands and machines”. The 50 speakers at the ADC Congress included The enfant terrible of the art scene Jonathan Meese, Tarek Müller (About You), design icon Natasha Jen (Pentagram New York), founder of the protest band Pussy Riot Maria Alyokhina, Internet guru Jeff Jarvis and Vice President Facebook EMEA Nicola Mendelsohn.

In the run-up to the ADC Congress, 405 members of the jury for the ADC Junior Competition Ilona Klück met for two days at the HSV Stadium Hamburg under the direction of Jury Chairman Mirko Borsche and Jury Chairwoman. Divided into 27 juries, the most creative minds of the ADC departments judged the entries from the ADC competitions 2019. The ADC exhibition in the Hamburg Museum der Arbeit, which shows the award-winning cases, will continue until June 2.

With the renewed award success in 2019, the Media Design course at the Duale Hochschule Baden Württemberg Ravensburg can assert itself as one of the most influential creative institutions in Germany. The range of categories in which the student projects were awarded reflects very well the overall design understanding of the course and ranges from holistic Communication/Advertising and Corporate Design to Photography and Book Design to special design areas such as Font Design and Experimental Digital Design.

Congratulations to all winners!

Click here for the press comments:

PAGE: ADC Wettbewerb 2019: Das sind die Gewinner

Horizont: ADC 2019

W&V: Das sind die ADC Gewinner

Photo: ADC

Junior Grand Prix und Preisregen beim ADC 2019

Hamburg: Beim diesjährigen ADC Festival des Art Directors Club Deutschland können die Mediendesigner wieder an ihre exzellenten Erfolge aus dem vergangenen Jahr anknüpfen!

Auch 2019 geht einer der beiden begehrten Junior-Grand Prix des Art Directors Club Deutschland nach Ravensburg: Jonathan Kopetzky und Johannes Lörz wurden mit ihrer Bachelorarbeit »The Worldwide Moral Movement« für die beste Abschlussarbeit des Jahres ausgezeichnet und gewannen zudem Gold in der Kategorie Experimentelle Gestaltung/Digital.

In ihrer Arbeit untersuchen sie, wie Populismus und Fake-News Menschen und ihre Moralvorstellungen beeinflussen können. Die gravierendsten Probleme unserer Gesellschaft erhalten entweder kein Gehör oder sind schwer lösbar. Ihre Idee: Sie nutzen provokante Mittel, um Lösungen für diese Probleme anzubieten und führen dabei den Populismus ad absurdum. Die Studenten berufen sich in ihrem Projekt auf den Utilitarismus und sagen “alles was nützt ist moralisch vertretbar”. Mit einer fiktiven Bewegung soll der Zuschauer radikale Lösungen glaubhaft vermittelt bekommen und dadurch zur moralischen Selbstreflexion gebracht werden.

„Eine Arbeit, die dem moralischen Zeigefinger den Mittelfinger zeigt. Und das auf dramaturgisch brillante Weise: Die ernste, fast biedere Aufbereitung mit der Erfindung eines fiktiven ‚Visionärs‘ mit haarsträubenden Lösungen. Genau dieser intelligente Wahnsinn und der Mut zu solchen Ideen, die auch noch perfekt zum Zeitgeist passen, verdienen die Auszeichnung,“ so die ADC Jury.

Ebenfalls mit ADC-Gold ausgezeichnet wurde die auch bereits beim GWA und Red Dot Award erfolgreiche Kommunikationskampagne für Schwarzwald-Tourismus »Endlich was für junge Leute« der Mediendesign-Studierenden Annick Buhr, Shannon Rogers, Tabea Edelkott, Julian Schleier, Johannes Lörz, Jonathan Kopetzky, Malte Heines und Julia Maier.

Ein Bronze-Nagel in der Kategorie »Schriftgestaltung« und gleichzeitig das einzige Edelmetall in dieser Kategorie ging an Hannes Drissner und Daniel Zenker für ihre Abschlussarbeit »Median Grotesk«.

Weitere fünf ADC-Auszeichnungen gingen an die Semester- und Abschlussarbeiten »Very Able Fonts« (Philip Walch), »Ordnung ist das halbe Leben« von Julian Schleier, »Sem Destino a Lisboa« von Julia Helm, »Am Grund des Sees« von Tabea Edelkott und Julia Maier sowie das »Corporate Design Psychiatrisches Museum Haina« von Mona Bianca Dürer.

Am 21. Mai startete in Hamburg mit dem ADC Festival 2019 das deutschlandweit größte Treffen der Kommunikationsbranche zum Thema „Creative Intelligence – Wie Ideen entstehen“. Der zweitägige ADC Kongress am 23. und 24. Mai fand zum Thema „Die Zukunft von Menschen, Marken und Maschinen“ statt. Unter den 50 Speakern beim ADC Kongress waren u.a.: Das Enfant Terrible der Kunstszene Jonathan Meese, Tarek Müller (About You), Design-Ikone Natasha Jen (Pentagram New York), Gründerin der Protest-Band Pussy Riot Maria Alyokhina, Internet-Guru Jeff Jarvis sowie Vice President Facebook EMEA Nicola Mendelsohn.

Im Vorfeld des ADC Kongresses tagten unter der Leitung des Jury Chairman Mirko Borsche und der Jury Chairwoman für den ADC Junior Wettbewerb Ilona Klück 405 Jurymitglieder zwei Tage im HSV Stadion Hamburg. Aufgeteilt in 27 Jurys beurteilten die kreativsten Köpfe der ADC Fachbereiche die Einreichungen aus den ADC Wettbewerben 2019. Die ADC Ausstellung im Hamburger Museum der Arbeit, die die prämierten Cases zeigt, findet noch bis zum 02. Juni statt.

Mit dem erneuten Preisregen in 2019 kann sich der Studiengang Mediendesign der Dualen Hochschule Baden Württemberg Ravensburg als eine der erfolgreichsten Kreativinstitutionen Deutschlands behaupten. Die Bandbreite der Kategorien, in denen Arbeiten des Studiengangs ausgezeichnet wurden, spiegelt sehr gut das übergreifende Designverständnis des Studiengangs wieder und reicht dabei von Ganzheitlicher Kommunikation und Corporate Design über Fotografie und Buchgestaltung bis hin zu speziellen Designbereichen wie Schriftgestaltung und Experimentelles digitales Design.

Ganz herzlichen Glückwunsch an alle Gewinner!

Hier gehts zu den Presse-Stimmen:

PAGE: ADC Wettbewerb 2019: Das sind die Gewinner

Horizont: ADC 2019

W&V: Das sind die ADC Gewinner

Titelfoto: ADC