LTT: Occulto, the third pill and what’s keeping me busy these days

Thursday, October 29, 2019, 12.45-13.45, Saal Altes Theater
Lunch Time Talk with the editor/curator and designer/pcoder Alice Cannavà .

Occulto is an independent publication that explores natural and formal sciences and their history together with other fields and subjects such as art history, cinema, pseudoscience, and history fo religions. Occulto experiments different ways of telling stories about science, and affirms the cultural value of scientific knowledge and the potential of an interdisciplinary approach opened to deviance, irony and autobiography. Each issues features commissioned artist’s projects and original illustrations and photos, as well as an experimental music compilation curated by Onga of Boring Machines.

From a more personal perspective, Occulto is, for its editor and designer Alice Cannava, the epicentre of an expanded, somewhat messy practice that involves organizing concerts, curating shows, selling records, giving talks and moderating panels, djing, producing books, designing printed matters, programming websites, and taking exams about history of biology.

Alice Cannava is an Italian, since 2009 Berlin based independent editor/curator and freelance designer/coder. She studied visual arts in Milan and Vienna and philosophy in Pavia. In 2009-2011 she ran the project space AC Galerie in Berlin Pankow. Since 2009 she edits and designs Occulto, where she has also published essays about information theory, paraconsistent logics and history of mathematics. Since 2001 she curates cultural events focused on experimental music, audiovisual performances, video art and independent publishing in several Berlin “Freie Szene” venues – WestGermany, ACUD MACHT NEU, Loophole, Echo Buecher, General Public, and Ausland, among others. Her edition Phantom Records – a series of visual and textual works about a fictional music label – is part of a German collection. She gave talks in venues and institutions such as Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin; Università Ca’ Foscari, Venice; Central Saint Martins College of Arts & Design, London; Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien, Graz; Halle 14, Leipzig. She’s currently studying at the Berlin Technical University (research-oriented MA History and Culture of Science and Technology).

www.occultomagazine.com

LTT: Occulto, die dritte Pille und was mich gerade beschäftigt

Dienstag, 29. Oktober 2019, 12.45-13.45 Uhr, Saal Altes Theater
Lunch Time Talk mit der Herausgeberin/Kuratorin und Designerin/Programmiererin Alice Cannavà .

Occulto ist eine unabhängige Publikation, die sich mit Natur- und Formalwissenschaften und deren Geschichte in Verbindung mit anderen Feldern und Themen wie Kunst- und Filmgeschichte, Pseudowissenschaft und Geschichte der Religionen befasst. Occulto lotet verschiedene Möglichkeiten zur Erzählung von Geschichten über die Wissenschaft aus und betont den kulturellen Wert wissenschaftlichen Wissens und das Potenzial eines interdisziplinären Ansatzes, der für Abweichungen, Ironie und Autobiografie offen ist. Jede Ausgabe enthält speziell in Auftrag gegebene Künstlerprojekte und Originalabbildungen von Illustratoren und Fotografen, sowie eine durch Onga von Boring Machines zusammengestellte Kompilation experimenteller Musik.

Aus persönlicher Perspektive stellt Occulto für Alice Cannavà als Herausgeberin und Gestalterin das Epizentrum einer erweiterten, etwas ungeordneten Tätigkeit dar, zu der die Organisation von Konzerten, die Kuratierung von Ausstellungen, der Verkauf von Schallplatten, das Halten von Vorträgen, die Produktion von Büchern, der Entwurf von Drucksachen, die Programmierung von Websites und das Ablegen von Prüfungen zur Geschichte der Biologie gehören.

Alice Cannavà ist eine unabhängige Herausgeberin/Kuratorin und freischaffende Designerin/Programmiererin aus Italien. Sie hat bildende Kunst in Mailand und Wien und Philosophie in Pavia studiert. Seit 2009 lebt sie in Berlin. Von 2009-2011 leitete sie den Projektraum AC Galerie in Berlin-Pankow. Seit 2009 ist sie Herausgeberin und Gestalterin von Occulto, für den sie Essays über Informationstheorie, parakonsistente Logik und Geschichte der Mathematik geschrieben hat. Seit 2011 kuratiert sie Veranstaltungen zu experimenteller Musik, Videokunst und Independent Publishing in zahlreichen Veranstaltungsorten der Berliner sogenannten Freien Szene – u.a. West Germany, ACUD MACHT NEU, Loophole, Echo Buecher, General Public und Ausland. Ihre Edition Phantom Records – eine Reihe von grafischen und textlichen Arbeiten über ein fiktives Musiklabel – ist Teil einer deutschen Sammlung. Sie hat Vorträge gehalten in Veranstaltungsorten und Institutionen wie dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin; Università Ca’ Foscari, Venedig; Central Saint Martins College of Arts & Design, London; Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien, Graz; Mediendesign DHBW, Ravensburg; Halle 14, Leipzig. Derzeit studiert sie an der Technischen Universität Berlin (forschungsorientierter Masterstudiengang Geschichte und Kultur der Wissenschaft und Technik).

www.occultomagazine.com