Lunchtime Talk: Applied Freedom – Gregor Kuschmirz

Thursday, 23 January 2020, 12.45-13.45, Saal Altes Theater
Applied freedom – About design, responsibility and happiness. Lunch Time Talk with media artist and interaction designer Gregor Kuschmirz.

Social networks have established themselves as a fixed factor in the news business. The whole world is now author, curator and co-sharer of their happiness. Not only journalists, but also designers can only prick up their ears in the face of the abyss in which every opinion is important and everyone feels empowered to »design«.
With this situation in mind, Gregor Kuschmirz discusses how professional media makers could succeed in continuing to live up to the responsibility that their knowledge and skills bring with them. He uses his own work to illustrate how his constant switching between art and design has ultimately opened up the freedom in both areas that has meant the greatest happiness for him as a designer.

Gregor Kuschmirz studied communication design at the Munich University of Applied Sciences and film and TV design at the Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg.
In his artistic work he deals with aspects of the public sphere, market mechanisms and social consequences of media technology developments. With performances, videos and interactive installations he regularly participates in international exhibitions, for example at the Centre Pompidou in Paris, the Shanghai Art Museum, the European Media Art Festival and the Frankfurter Kunstverein.
From 2011 to 2019 he was responsible for the moving image department at Cologne-based digital agency denkwerk, where he was also involved in the development and work of the IoT laboratory »thinx«.
Gregor Kuschmirz was interim-professor for moving image at the Münster University of Applied Sciences from 2015 to 2017 and currently teaches »experiment and concept« at the Vorarlberg University of Applied Sciences.

kuschmirz.de
denkwerk.com

Image: »In Waves« Music Video Still 2017 for »Nagel«, by Kuschmirz/Dörning.

Lunchtime Talk: Applied Freedom mit Gregor Kuschmirz

Donnerstag, 23. Januar 2020, 12.45-13.45 Uhr, Saal Altes Theater
Applied freedom – Über Gestaltung, Verantwortung und Glück. Lunch Time Talk mit dem Medienkünstler und Interaction Designer Gregor Kuschmirz.

Soziale Netzwerke haben sich als feste Größe im Nachrichtengeschäft etabliert. Alle Welt ist jetzt AutorIn, KuratorIn und Mit-Teilende/r seines und ihres Glückes. Nicht nur Journalisten, auch Gestalter können im Angesicht des Abgrundes, in dem jede Meinung wichtig und sich jede/r zum ˋdesignen´ befähigt fühlt, nur mit den Ohren schlackern.
Diese Situation vor Augen erörtert Gregor Kuschmirz, wie es professionellen Medienmachern gelingen könnte, der Verantwortung, die ihr Wissen und ihre Fertigkeiten mit sich bringen, weiterhin gerecht zu werden und stellt anhand eigener Arbeiten dar, wie ihm sein steter Wechsel zwischen Kunst und Design letztlich in beiden Bereichen jene Freiräume eröffnet hat, die ihm als Gestalter das größte Glück bedeuten.

Gregor Kuschmirz studierte Kommunikationsdesign an der Fachhochschule München und Film- und TV-Design an der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg.
In seinem künstlerischen Werk setzt er sich mit Aspekten von Öffentlichkeit, Marktmechanismen und gesellschaftlichen Folgen medientechnischer Entwicklungen auseinander. Mit Performances, Videos und interaktiven Installationen ist er regelmäßig an internationalen Ausstellungen beteiligt, so u.a. im Pariser Centre Pompidou, im Shanghai Art Museum, beim European Media Art Festival und im Frankfurter Kunstverein.
Als Motion Director verantwortete er von 2011 bis 2019 den Bewegtbildbereich der Kölner Digitalagentur denkwerk, wo er zudem an der Entwicklung und Arbeit des IoT-Labors ‘thinx’ beteiligt war.
Gregor Kuschmirz war von 2015 bis 2017 Vertretungsprofessor für Bewegtbild an der Fachhochschule Münster und lehrt derzeit Experiment und Konzept an der Fachhochschule Vorarlberg.

kuschmirz.de
denkwerk.com

Abb: »In Waves« Music Video Still 2017 für »Nagel«, von Kuschmirz/Dörning.

Plakat: Felix Buhler