Lunchtime Talk: Let’s Get Physical. With Andreas Muxel

Lunchtime Talk
2 February 2018, 12.30-13.30, Saal, Marktstraße 13-15

»Let’s get Physical«
Prof. Andreas Muxel, Augsburg/Köln

With digitalisation, our world seems to be becoming more and more dematerialised. However, it is the materiality of things that provides opportunity for any experiential action. Physical interfaces thus serve as mediators and communication carriers in the dialogue between man and abstract machine. While the distribution of roles was clearly defined in the past – the human being acts, the machine functions – we are experiencing more and more that we “co-operate” with objects and that they “co-operate” with us. These hybrid artifacts – between analog and digital – escape the digital world and become actors in a physical environment. It is only through the fact that things oppose us and create friction that we become aware of them and allow for a tangible space for action.

Andreas Muxel studied communication design at the University of Applied Sciences Vorarlberg and media arts at the Academy of Media Arts in Cologne. In his experimental works he deals with the entanglement of code and material as well as man-machine interaction. A body of work at the intersection of design, art and science has widely been exhibited and honored internationally (e. g. Ars Electronica Festival Linz, FILE Festival São Paulo, TodaysArt Festival Brussels, VIDA Award Madrid, Share Price Turin).
2015 he co-founded the design studio “NEOANALOG” with a focus on the development and design of hybrid artifacts and spaces. From 2013 to 2017, Andreas Muxel worked as a professor of Interface Design at the Cologne International School of Design (KISD). Since the winter semester 2017/2018 he is a Professor of Research and Teaching in “Physical Human-Machine Interfaces” at the Faculty of Design, Augsburg University of Applied Sciences.

www.neoanalog.io
www.andreasmuxel.com

Poster design: Felix Buhler

LTT_LetsGetPhysical_FINAL_01_s

LTT_LetsGetPhysical_FINAL_02_s

portrait_muxel

styrolution_s

Lunchtime Talk: Let’s Get Physical. Mit Andreas Muxel

Lunchtime Talk
2. Februar 2018, 12.30-13.30, Saal, Marktstraße 13-15

»Let’s get Physical«
Prof. Andreas Muxel, Augsburg/Köln

Mit der Digitalisierung scheint sich unsere Welt immer mehr zu entmaterialisieren. Es ist dennoch die Materialität der Dinge, die erst einen erfahrbaren Handlungsraum zulässt. Physische Schnittstellen dienen somit als Vermittler und Kommunikationsträger im Dialog zwischen Mensch und abstrakter Maschine. War die Rollenverteilung in der Vergangenheit noch klar – der Mensch handelt, die Maschine funktioniert – erleben wir immer mehr, dass wir mit den Dingen »mit-funktionieren« und diese mit uns »mit-handeln«. Diese hybriden Artefakte – zwischen analog und digital – entfliehen der digitalen Welt und werden zu Akteuren in einer physischen Umwelt. Erst dadurch, dass sich die Dinge uns entgegenstellen und wir uns an ihnen reiben, werden sie in unser Bewusstsein gerückt und lassen einen erfahrbaren Handlungsraum zu.

Andreas Muxel studierte Kommunikationsdesign an der Fachhochschule Vorarlberg und Mediale Künste an der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln. In seinen experimentellen Arbeiten beschäftigt er sich mit der Verschränkung von Code und Material und der Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion. Seine Werke an der Schnittstelle von Design, Kunst und Wissenschaft wurden bereits vielfach international ausgestellt und ausgezeichnet (u.a. Ars Electronica Festival Linz, FILE Festival São Paulo, TodaysArt Festival Brüssel, VIDA Award Madrid, Share Price Turin).
2015 Gründung des Design Studios »NEOANALOG« mit Schwerpunkt Entwicklung und Gestaltung hybrider Artefakte und Räume. Von 2013 bis 2017 war Andreas Muxel Professor für Interface Design an der Köln International School of Design der TH Köln. Seit dem Wintersemester 2017/2018 ist er Professor für Forschung und Lehre in »Physical Human-Machine Interfaces« an der Fakultät für Gestaltung Hochschule Augsburg.

www.neoanalog.io
www.andreasmuxel.com

Plakatentwürfe: Felix Buhler

LTT_LetsGetPhysical_FINAL_01_s

LTT_LetsGetPhysical_FINAL_02_s

portrait_muxel

styrolution_s