Beautiful books! — An evening with Karin Schmidt-Friderichs and Anna Rahm

Friday, 22 November 2019, 7pm, Altes Theater Ravensburg – Saal
Anna Rahm, in cooperation with the Media Design department at DHBW, are very happy to welcome Karin Schmidt-Friderichs in Ravensburg. Karin Schmidt-Friderichs, founder of Verlag Hermann Schmidt, gives an insight behind the scenes of book making and publishing. She will talk about the publishing house Hermann Schmidt, its publication programme and the people behind, and she will illustrate the Schmidt philosophy of the “beautiful book”. Because she is convinced: “The future of the book is … beautiful!
Together with Anna Rahm and Prof. Dr. Klaus Birk you can also expect a lively discussion: How can the medium of the book prove itself anew in times of change?

The lecture is open to the public. Admission free.

Karin Schmidt-Friderichs together with her husband Bertram founded the publishing house Hermann Schmidt in 1992, today one of the best known specialist publishers for typography, graphic design and advertising in German-speaking countries. Trained as an architect she is committed to design, and has been an advocat to the beautiful book for many years: among other things, she was Chairman of the Board of Stiftung Buchkunst from 2011 to 2016 and has been Head of the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels since 2019.
typografie.de

Anna Rahm used to be a mobile bookseller. Five years ago she settled down in Ravensburg with her own bookshop: “Anna Rahm mit Büchern unterwegs”. She finds that a beautiful book is always taking the reader on a journey. Special, beautiful books and a large selection of titles from independent publishers, plus exhibitions by local and regional artists – this mixture brought her the German Bookstore Prize already for the third time in 2018.
mit-buechern-unterwegs.de

Klaus Birk is head of the Media Design department at DHBW and lectures in the fields of transmedia design and digital typography. He studied communication design in Kiel, followed by typographic/graphic studies and a doctorate from UAL London. He has been working in the conception and design of future digital products and services for many years. In addition, he is guest author of FORM design magazine and gives international lectures on digitality and future design perspectives.
klausbirk.com

Karin Schmidt-Friderichs. Photo: Gabi Gerster. Poster: Klaus Birk

Schöne Bücher! — Ein Abend mit Karin Schmidt-Friderichs und Anna Rahm

Freitag, 22. November 2019, 19:00 Uhr, Altes Theater Ravensburg – Saal
»Das Buch – Über ein Medium im Zeitenwandel« An diesem Abend begrüßt Anna Rahm in Kooperation mit dem Studiengang Mediendesign der Dualen Hochschule Baden-Württemberg die Verlegerin Karin Schmidt-Friderichs in Ravensburg. Karin Schmidt-Friderichs gibt einen Einblick hinter die Kulissen des Büchermachens. Sie stellt den Verlag Hermann Schmidt, seine Bücher und Menschen vor und erzählt von der Schmidt-Philosophie der schönen Bücher. Denn ihre Überzeugung ist: »Die Zukunft des Buches ist … schön!«
Gemeinsam mit Anna Rahm und Prof. Dr. Klaus Birk erwartet Sie außerdem eine angeregte Diskussion: Wie kann sich das Medium Buch im Zeitenwandel stets neu beweisen?

Der Vortrag ist öffentlich. Eintritt frei.

Karin Schmidt-Friderichs gründete zusammen mit ihrem Mann Bertram 1992 den Verlag Hermann Schmidt, heute einer der bekanntesten Fachverlage für Typografie, Grafik-Design und Werbung im deutschsprachigen Raum. Von Hause aus Architektin und der Gestaltung verpflichtet, engagiert sie sich seit vielen Jahren für das schöne Buch: unter anderem war sie 2011-2016 Vorstandsvorsitzende der Stiftung Buchkunst und ist seit 2019 Vorsteherin des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels.
typografie.de

Anna Rahm war früher mobile Buchhändlerin. Vor fünf Jahren ist sie in Ravensburg mit einer eigenen Buchhandlung sesshaft geworden: »Anna Rahm mit Büchern unterwegs«. Mit schönen Büchern ist man immer auf Reisen, findet sie. Besondere, schöne Bücher und eine große Auswahl aus der Produktion der Indieverlage, dazu Austellungen lokaler und regionaler Künstler — damit wurde ihre Buchhandlung 2018 bereits zum dritten Mal mit dem Deutschen Buchhandlungspreis gekürt.
mit-buechern-unterwegs.de

Klaus Birk leitet den Studiengang Mediendesign an der Dualen Hochschule Baden-Württemberg und lehrt in den Bereichen Transmediale Gestaltung und digitale Typografie. Studium Kommunikationsdesign in Kiel, Typo-/graphic Studies und Promotion in London. Er arbeitet seit vielen Jahren in der Konzeption zukünftiger digitaler Produkte und Services. Daneben ist er Gastautor des FORM Designmagazins und referiert international zu Digitalität und Zukunftsgestaltung.
klausbirk.com

Karin Schmidt-Friderichs. Fotografie: Gabi Gerster. Plakat: Klaus Birk