Decolonizing Design & Modes of Criticism

Dinnertime Talk, Thursday, 22 February 2018, 7pm, Marktstraße 13-15, Saal

There’s no question: critical design is en vogue. Speculative design labs generate ambivalent visions of a future technological world. Design consultancies apply design thinking and market visual criticism as a strategy and management method. Social designers develop new concepts for humanitarian projects, ecological packaging or social concerns – often as side projects to their more economical day jobs. The question of what design can, must, or should be these days is the subject of numerous international conferences. Indeed, the concept of design as a whole is transforming.

Many of these approaches have good intentions in trying to make the world a little better. Viewed globally, however, their perspectives could also be understood as a kind of new design colonialism: A predominantly western, white middle-class design community is carrying critical design into the world as a universal promise. In fact, do their aspirations actually just reveal the old question of the social meaning of design – of a discipline that is at odds with its capitalist cradle, but remains inaccessible to large parts of the global society, thus marginalizing them even more?

So, what does “colonial” mean in the context of design? A question also posed for instance by the multinational design research group “Decolonizing Design”, and sharply rejected at the very outset when it was to be excluded from a design conference on the grounds of irrelevance. Perhaps because their aim is to achieve an “informed understanding of the complexities, challenges, and political implications of designed things”? Or as Francisco Laranjo demands: Decolonizing Design is to be understood as breaking up the North Atlantic axis that controls and monopolizes the design discipline and international design discourse.

Today’s Dinnertime Talk will explore these questions with two representatives of the Decolonizing Design Group, Pedro Oliveira and Luiza Prado (Brazil, www.decolonisingdesign.com), who are working together as A Parede (a-pare.de), as well as Francisco Laranjo (Porto/London, modesofcriticism.org), design researcher and initiator of the international publication series “Modes of Criticism”. The basis for discussion is the Decolonizing Design Editorial, available here: www.decolonisingdesign.com/statements/2016/editorial/ and the editorial statement on Modes of Criticism, available here: modesofcriticism.org/about

Dr. Francisco Laranjo works as a graphic designer, author and design researcher in Porto (PT) and London (UK). His platform “@modesofcriticism” deals with the theory and practice of creative criticism within the design discipline. He writes for Design Observer, Eye Magazine, Creative Review, Graphics, and teaches internationally as a guest lecturer at the Sandberg Institute (NL), the Royal College of Art and Central Saint Martins (UK) or the Hochschule der Künste Bern (CH). He has also recently been a guest speaker at CalArts (US), Angewandte Wien (AT) and the University of Lisbon (PT). Francisco holds a PhD from the University of the Arts London and an MA in Visual Communication from the Royal College of Art. He is co-director of the Shared Institute, a research centre for design and radical pedagogy.

Pedro Oliveira and Luiza Prado have just submitted their doctoral theses in the field of design research to the University of the Arts Berlin. They use A Parede as a collaborative playground for their research, texts on design methodology, design and teaching projects and other educational activities. It is based on an understanding of design as a method for political alphabetism, the questioning of the responsibility of practices as ways to secure and update colonial structures, but also the questioning of gender and sound structures. Their aim is the use and misuse of design tools in order to develop counter-hegemonies as well as anti-colonial and decolonial plans for the future.
Luiza Prado studied graphic design at the Pontifícia Universidade Católica (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) and Pedro Oliveira at the Universidade Estadual Paulista (Bauru, Brazil). Both graduated with a Master’s degree in Digital Media from the Hochschule für Künste Bremen.

The Dinnertime Talk is a format by and with Prof. Dr. Klaus Birk and Prof. Dr. Holger Lund.

Medienpartner
Druck
form Design Magazine – Established 1957

https://www.form.de/en/news/decolonizing-design-and-modes-of-criticism

DTT_Deco_ModesOfCriticism_01

DTT_Deco_ModesOfCriticism_02

Poster design: Klaus Birk

Decolonizing Design & Modes of Criticism

La Colonie Paris Kader Attia

Dinnertime Talk, Donnerstag, 22. Februar 2018, 19.00 Uhr, Marktstraße 13-15, Saal

Keine Frage, kritisches Design ist in Mode. Spekulative Designlabs generieren ambivalente Visionen einer künftigen technisierten Welt. Design-Beratungen vermarkten mit Design Thinking visuelle Kritik als Strategie- und Managementmethode. Social Designer_innen entwickeln – neben ihren wirtschaftlicheren Dayjobs – neue Konzepte für humanitäre Projekte, ökologische Verpackungen oder soziale Belange. Die Frage, was Design heute alles kann, muss, oder sein sollte, beschäftigt zahlreiche internationale Fachveranstaltungen. Ja, der Designbegriff insgesamt transformiert sich.

Viele dieser Ansätze sind tatsächlich gut gemeint und möchten versuchen, die Welt ein bisschen besser zu machen. Global betrachtet, könnte man das aber auch als eine Art neuen Design-Kolonialismus verstehen: Aus einer vornehmlich westlichen, weißen Mittelklasse-Welt heraus wird kritisches Design als ein allheilendes Versprechen in die Welt getragen. Zeigt sich in diesen Bestrebungen also eigentlich die alte Sinnfrage einer Disziplin, die mit ihrer kapitalistischen Wiege hadert, aber für weite Teile der Weltgesellschaft eben doch unzugänglich bleibt — ja sie gar marginalisiert?

Was meint dieser Begriff des Kolonialen? Und was meint er bezogen auf Design? Das fragt u.a. die multinationale Designforschungsgruppe »Decolonizing Design«, die gleich zu ihrem Einstand heftige Ablehnung erfuhr, als sie aus einer Designtagung mit der Begründung von Irrelevanz ausgeschlossen werden sollte. Vielleicht aber auch gerade weil ihr Ziel darin besteht, ein »informed understanding of the complexities, challenges, and political implications of designed things« zu erreichen. Oder wie Francisco Laranjo es fordert: Decolonizing Design als das Aufbrechen einer Nordatlantischen Achse zu verstehen, die die Designdisziplin und den internationalen Designdiskurs maßgeblich kontrolliert und monopolisiert.

Der heutige Dinnertime Talk wird diesen Fragen nachgehen, mit zwei Vertreter_innen der Decolonizing Design-Gruppe, Pedro Oliveira und Luiza Prado (Brasilien, www.decolonisingdesign.com), die zugleich als A Parede zusammenarbeiten (a-pare.de), sowie Francisco Laranjo (Porto/London, modesofcriticism.org), Design Researcher und Initiator der internationalen Publikationsreihe »Modes of Criticism«. Diskussionsgrundlage ist das Decolonizing Design Editorial, erreichbar hier: www.decolonisingdesign.com/statements/2016/editorial sowie das Statement zu Modes of Criticism, erreichbar hier: modesofcriticism.org/about/

Dr. Francisco Laranjo arbeitet als Grafik Designer, Autor und Designforscher in Porto (PT) und London (UK). Auf seiner Plattform »@modesofcriticism« beschäftigt er sich mit der Theorie und Praxis gestalterischer Kritik innerhalb der Designdisziplin. Er schreibt u.a. für den Design Observer, Eye Magazine, Creative Review, Grafik, und lehrt international als Gastdozent, etwa am Sandberg Institute (NL), dem Royal College of Art und Central Saint Martins (UK) oder der Hochschule der Künste Bern (CH). Außerdem war er als Gastredner kürzlich an der CalArts (US), an der Angewandten Wien (AT) oder der Universität Lissabon (PT) zu hören. Francisco promovierte an der University of the Arts London und hält einen MA in Visueller Kommunikation vom Royal College of Art. Er ist Co-Direktor des Shared Institute, einem Forschungszentrum für Design und radikale Pädagogik.

Pedro Oliveira und Luiza Prado haben soeben ihre Doktorarbeiten im Bereich der Designforschung an der Universität der Künste Berlin eingereicht. A Parede verstehen sie als Spielplatz für ihre Forschungen, für Texte über Designmethodologie, Design- und Lehrprojekte und andere Unterrichtsaktivitäten. Grundlage ist ihr Verständnis von Design als Methode für politisches Alphabetentum, die Befragung der Verantwortlichkeit von Praktiken als Wege, koloniale Strukturen zu sichern und fortzuschreiben, aber auch die Befragung von Gender- und Soundstrukturen. Ihr Ziel ist der Gebrauch, die Zweckentfremdung und der Missbrauch von Designwerkzeugen, um Gegenhegemonien sowie anti- und dekoloniale Zukunftsentwürfe zu entwickeln.
Luiza Prado studierte Grafikdesign an der Pontifícia Universidade Católica (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil), Pedro Oliveira hingegen an der Universidade Estadual Paulista (Bauru, Brazil). Beide schlossen einen Master in Digital Media an der Hochschule für Künste Bremen an.

Der Dinnertime Talk ist ein Format von und mit Prof. Dr. Klaus Birk und Prof. Dr. Holger Lund.